Username: Password:
  • Page:

TOPIC: spark plug gap increase

spark plug gap increase 10 Sep 2018 21:04 #1

• James
  • Adventurer
  • Adventurer
  • Thank you received: 1
Have a 1989 Dodge Dakota 6 cylinder 3.9. I'm new at learning about the groove and am trying out a few improvements. Question on increasing the spark gap. As i observed the spark difference when increasing the gap, the spark does not stay jumping of the top of the electrode after 0.045. The wider the gap the more the spark jumps off the side of the electrode and hits the tang at a angle where it bends over the electrode. Is this what others hear have noticed? Is this OK?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Ron Hatton

Please Log in to join the conversation.

spark plug gap increase 11 Sep 2018 11:30 #2

• Ron Hatton
  • Founder
  • Founder
  • Gadgetman
  • Thank you received: 490
The variable that changes with the spark plug is the distance and design of the spark plug innards. The spark is going to jump to the closest grounded area it can.

While I've seen some that wouldn't take but a few thousandths of an inch, I've seen them take 0.080 and more also! The key is getting it top the MAX distance and still have it fire toward the combustion chamber. Once it starts firing to the base, you will get zero benefit from opening it further, and will PROBABLY find it better to reduce the gap until it hits the tip.

Additionally, if you have access to a drill press, and small enough bits, drill a small hole in the tang, aimed at the anode in the center of the plug.

"SHAZAM!"

Ron
Ron Hatton
Developer of The Gadgetman Groove
and Snake Oil-https://SnakeOil.wtf/?wpam_id=1
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tracy Gallaway, CLAUDIO CORDOVA, James

spark plug gap increase 11 Sep 2018 12:20 #3

• GregK
  • Friends of Gadgetman
  • Friends of Gadgetman
  • Thank you received: 652
Is this engine equipped with a coil pack or a distributor?