Welcome, Guest
Username: Password:
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1990 420SEL Mercedes

1990 420SEL Mercedes 30 Jul 2012 21:29 #1

• davidvlis
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
This is my first attempt to install the Gadgetman Groove.

The car is a 1990 420SEL Mercedes.

I attached a MS Word file that has pictures and text.

The throttle body is located under the fuel injection system, which had to be removed. So this installation took several days.

The aluminum on the throttle body is not very thick so the grove cut into a vacuum chamber and made a hole. I filled it with J-B Weld epoxy and re cut the groove.

Question:

I don't know if I blocked off the correct vacuum line? I point to it in the pictures.

Next thing is to:
- put some miles on the car and see if the gas mileage improves
- and get another smog text and check the emission numbers.

This message has an attachment file.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by .

Re: 1990 420SEL Mercedes 31 Jul 2012 03:07 #2

• Tracy Gallaway
  • Founder
  • Founder
  • Thank you received: 564
Hi David, I just looked your post over, Thank You! I just got a little Education about this Mercedes!

Fair amount of work on this one, Eh?;) Anyway I would definitely get a shop manual for this car/engine to figure out the PCV system. I can't tell for sure if that is the PCV line/hose you blocked. However in the left rear valve cover area it looks like might be the fresh air breather hose, does that hose connect to an air cleaner?