Welcome, Guest
Username: Password:
Welcome to the Groovy Forums!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and will work to help you achieve your fuel efficiency goals.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Starting to get ready to Groove

Starting to get ready to Groove 18 Oct 2013 21:05 #1

• Josephhyde@yahoo.com
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
Hi all! (And Ron!)

(I'm not quite sure where to put this being it's my first time on the forum, and a new licensee, and also a customer of Ron's 'mail in' program for getting my throttle body done! After this I can figure out where to post when I actually start 'Groovin'!)

I purchased the Personal License awhile back and then when Ron offered the full license at a discount He allowed me to 'upgrade to it', Thanks Ron!

He had grooved my 1988 Ford Aerostar van's throttle body/combo intake manifold for me! (A nasty business!), I did not look forward to doing it myself! It's one of those types of jobs that Ron has a section in one of the manuals where he teaches you when to say 'No' to doing the groove I believe! So thanks again to Ron for doing mine anyway!!! I had a mechanics shop put it in the van along with some other repairs since the van had been sitting for four years! I needed to go on a trip and I thought that would be a good time to get it installed.

New the van should have gotten 20 mpg highway in 1988. It's now 24 years old and 100,000++ miles on it! maybe even 200,000 miles. Even then it's in good shape. It's always passes smog in Calif with no problems, although I've always loaded the deck for it, using 'Guaranteed To Pass'! Miracle lubricants in the oil, etc before getting it smogged or similar each time!

On this trip I got an average of 25 mpg to a low of 23.5 about. That's not bad though! It was about a 1,300 mile round trip.

A little digression here...!