Welcome, Guest
Username: Password:
Welcome to the Groovy Forums!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and will work to help you achieve your fuel efficiency goals.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Greetings good folk

Greetings good folk 29 May 2019 22:48 #1

• Johnathan
  • Adventurer
  • Adventurer
  • Thank you received: 21
Hi there everyone. I joined the forum quite a while back. I'd jump on occasionally to read. I enjoy all the info and I am hoping to have funds for the license program soon. I worked as an auto mechanic since high school but am now a father of two and a full time stay at home dad. My wife owns her own business and does very well at it. She has always made most of our money so when she got pregnant with our first she said, "i think we both know who's staying home now." Haha. I am very grateful tho as not many dads get this opportunity. I'm hoping to supplement our income with weekend groove jobs as well as use it to help family members and so on.

So I'm not able to afford the license kit just yet but I would like to do some of the other mods to my truck if someone could point me to a good thread it would be most appreciated. I have a 02 GMC Sierra 2500 4x4 gas 6.0 I'd like to do the spark plug gaps and the pcv re route thing. I know there's the factory gap specs but is there a rule of thumb for over-gapping? Also with the pcv, from what I understand, you just cap off the inlet (leak) bringing the crankcase gas into the throttle body or intake manifold. But then what do you do with the pcv valve? If it's unhooked from the vacuum source I'd think it would just make a mess everywhere. I could do a breather catch can but I haven't seen Ron or anyone mention needing that so I guess I missed some info somewhere on the whole pcv deal. Anyways thanks for your time and I appreciate any response! -Johnathan
The following user(s) said Thank You: Michael Lee, David Seaich